Kashmir Indepth

Russia announces ceasefire for evacuations in Kyiv, Kharkiv, Mariupol, Sumy

ukraine kyiv ap

New Delhi, March 7  :Russia’s defence ministry announced its forces would observe a ceasefire in four cities of Ukraine from 7am GMT (12.30pm IST) on Monday to allow for humanitarian corridors.

The corridors would be opened in Kyiv, Kharkiv, Mariupol and Sumy. The defence ministry said the humanitarian corridors were being set up following a “personal” request of French President Emmanuel Macron to Russia’s Vladimir Putin.

The defence ministry said people leaving Kyiv would be airlifted to Russia and drones would be used to monitor the evacuation. The defence ministry warned “attempts by the Ukrainian side to deceive Russia and the whole civilised world … are useless this time,” Reuters reported.

“Two planned evacuation operations from Mariupol and the nearby city of Volnovakha have failed over the last two days as the sides accused each other of failing to stop shooting and shelling,” Reuters reported.

Related posts

Govt’s policy of zero tolerance towards militancy will continue in J&K: Amit Shah

Kashmir Indepth

6 dead as car plunges into canal in UP’s Greater Noida

Kashmir Indepth

Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, 11 others booked by UP Police for ‘disturbing peace’

Ankit Sharma

Yoga brings people together: PM Modi, Home Minister Amit shah says, ‘Yoga is a medium of establishing harmony between body and mind’

Kashmir Indepth

PM reaches Dehradun, to visit Kedarnath Saturday

Kashmir Indepth

Punjab: Denied ticket, Minister Vijay Sampla says it is cow slaughter by BJP

Kashmir Indepth

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy