Kashmir Indepth

Kashmiri political prisoners treated as criminals: JRL

Srinagar, Jan 11: The Joint Resistance Leadership (JRL) Syed Ali Geelani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Mohammad Yasin Malik has expressed serious concern over the “pathetic condition” of the prisoners in and outside state jails especially Delhi’s Tihar Jail.

JRL in a statement said despite being political prisoners they are denied every right guaranteed in the national or international jail manual.

“Revengeful attitude of the rulers in Delhi has crossed every limit of heartlessness and insensitivity. They wilfully prolong their stay in jails through judicial victimization,” JRL said.

The leadership added, “The slow and humiliating judicial process has ruined the life of so many young innocents and those who were arrested on factious cases are yet to be augmented with the documentary evidence of their ‘crimes’.”

They said that Sangh Parivaar is only prolonging the custody of Shabir Ahmad Shah, Peer Saifullah, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Ayaz Akbar, Raja Meraj-ud-Din Kalwal, Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Shahid-ul-Islam, Farooq Ahmad Dar, Shahid Yousaf, Syed Shakeel Ahmad, Zahoor Ahamad Watali, Asiya Andrabi, Fahmeeda Sofi, Naheeda Nasreen and others who continue to bear the brunt of this “victimization” for more than a year now.

“It is unfortunate that the Indian fascist ruling class treats our resistance leaders like professional criminals in their so-called jails which have been turned into worst centres of interrogation,” the leadership said.

JRL hailed the “uncompromising courage and commitment” of political prisoners with the resistance movement and said that these prisoners include: Shabir Ahmad Shah, Dr. Mohammad Qasim, Dr. Shafi Sharyati, Dr. Gh. Mohammad Bhat, Masarat Aalam Bhat, Syeda Asia Indrabi, Fehmeeda Sofi, Nahida Nasreen, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Peer Saifullah, Ayaz Akbar, Raja Mehraj-ud-din Kalwal, sahid-ul-Islam, Nayeem Ahmad Khan, farooq Ahmad Dar, Mohammad Aslam Wani, Sahaid Yousuf, Zahoor Ahmad Watali, Muzuffar Ahmad Dar, Mohammad Shafi Shah, Mushtaq Ahmad Lone, Talib Hussain, Ahtisham, Ghulam Qadir Bhat, Mohammad Ayoub Dar, Mohammad Ayoub Mir, Maqsood Ahmad Bhat, Mohammad Yousuf Falahi, Shakeel Ahmad Yatoo, Bashir Ahmad Qureshi, Umar Aadil Dar, Ab. Gani Bhat, Nasir Ahmad Ganie, Mohammad Amin Ahanger, Nisar Ahmad Najar, Gh. Hussain Wagay, Gh. Mohammad Khan Sopori, Mushtaq-ul-Islam, Nazir Ahmad Mantoo, Nadeem Ahmad Dar, Lateef Ahmad Dar, Zahir Abas Lone, Lateef Ahmad Rather, Sajad Ahmad Beigh, Manzoor Ahmad Najar, Basharat Ahmad Mir, Ashiq Hussain Bhat, Riyaz Ahmad Dar, Sajad Ahmad Bhat, Mushtaq Ahmad Ganie, Showkat Ahmad Ganie, Bilal Ahmad Ganie, Riyaz Ahmad Ahanger, Mohammad Amin Bhat, Nazir Ahmad Khawaja, Shabir Ahmad Mir, Mehraj Ahmad Mir, Imtiyaz Ahmad Mir, Khursheed Ahmad Mir, Mohammad Shafi Mir, Azad Ahmad Mir, Riyaz Ahmad Behroo, Ikhlas Ahmad Sheikh, Kaleem Mohammad, Javid Ahmad Khan, Mohammad Asif Bhat, Asif Gul, Bashir Ahmad Sofi, Abdul Rehman Tantray, Mohammad Yaseen Tantray, Javid Ahmad War, Maqsood Ahmad, Mohammad Ayoub Malla, Zafar Islam, Mohammad Rajab Bhat, Mashooq Ahmad Bhat, Farooq Ahmad Najar, Parvez Ahmad Najar, Aabid Ahmad Kachroo, Showkat Mehraj, Fayaz Ahmad, Fayaz Ahmad Kumar, Fahran Lalu, Suhail Ahmad Sheikh, Waseem Mehraj, Umar Ahmad Dar, Irshad Khawaja, Tajamul-Islam, Aadil Ahmad Shah, Ashiq Hussain Ganie, Parveez Ahmad Ganie, Hilal Ahmad Ganie, Bashir Ahmad Malik. Mushtaq Ahmad Sheikh, Ishfaq Ahmad Makroo, Riyaz Ahmad Malik, Aasif Nisar Malik, Aasim Yaseen Malik, Zahir Ahmad Nala, Abdul Hamid Parray, Asadullah Parray, Showkat Hakeem, Mehraj-ud-din Nanda, and Abdul Ahad Mir.

JRL appealed United Nations Human Rights Commission, Amnesty International, Human Rights Watch and International Red cross to monitor and see the “pathetic and inhuman” treatment meted out to these political prisoners and pressurize India to stop this “inhuman and undemocratic attitude”.

Meanwhile, JRL today organized a peaceful protest rally at Abi Guzar Srinagar against the plight of prisoners languishing in different jails in and outside the state, the statement said.

Related posts

ECI to take more feedback from officials on JK Assembly polls

Kashmir Indepth

  Look at Afghanistan: Mehbooba Mufti warns Centre, asks for restoration of Article 370

Ankit Sharma

DDC Elections- 3rd Phase
43.03% votes polled till 1PM across J&K

Kashmir Indepth

Chess championships from March 10 in J&K

Kashmir Indepth

Viral video shows woman Sarpanch from Sopore seeks forgiveness from ‘militants’ says she will resign

Kashmir Indepth

After article 370 rollback, Covid casts shadow on Kashmir’s hotel business: KHARA

Kashmir Indepth

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy