Kashmir Indepth

Restrictions in Kashmir prevent 24 players from attending cricket camp in Srinagar: JKCA

Jammu, Sep 2 (KINS ) Twenty-four cricketers, heading towards Srinagar to attend a cricket camp, had to return disappointed owing to restrictions imposed in the Valley, an official of the Jammu and Kashmir Cricket Association said here on Thursday.

The restrictions have been imposed as a preventive measure following the death of Separatist leader Syed Ali Shah Geelani on Wednesday night at his Hyderpora residence.

As per official handout issued here on Thursday, Brig Anil Gupta (retd), Member-Administration, JKCA, said that the 24 men probable for upcoming Under-19 tournament on Thursday left from Jammu for Srinagar to attend the camp under the banner of Jammu and Kashmir Cricket Association but had to return from Udhampur as no further movement was allowed by the traffic police towards Srinagar.

The probables were accompanied by Ravi Sharma, ex Ranji player and prominent first-class cricketer who has been selected as the Camp In charge.

The camp was scheduled to be held at JKCA cricket stadium, Sonwar, Srinagar from September 3 to 18, said the Administrator.

The Men’s camp was to begin at Srinagar from September 3 but due to the prevailing situation in Srinagar, the camp is likely to get delayed.

The players will continue to practice at Jammu.

Brig Gupta said that to train and select the final list of 20 players each of Men and Women U-19 teams to represent the National Championship being organized by BCCI at Indore and Bhubneshwar respectively from September 20 to October 18, JKCA had planned separate camps at Jammu and Srinagar for the Men and Women teams.

While the Women’s Camp is already under progress at Hostel Ground, Jammu.

The list of 24 probable from Jammu includes: Vanshaj Sharma (Batsman), Arya Suvansh Thakur, Akshay Sharma, Damanpreet Singh, Yuvraj Saini, Akshit Gandral, Asrarul Gani, Ishan Bali, Arnav Gupta, Dhruv Singh Parmar, Jasvir Singh, Manit Jasrotia, Shubh Badwal, Mohd Naveed, Dinesh, Vanshaj Sharma (Bowler), Prabhjot Singh, Vishal Kumar, Praful Dhar, Nityam Abrol, Abhay Tandon, Sahil Nasir, Ridhyam Sharma.

Uday Pratap Singh who was selected as a probable withdrew from the team at the last moment citing personal reasons. Hence, in his place first reserve Gursimar Singh was included in the list of 24 probable informed Brig Gupta.

The list of 24 probables from Kashmir include: Tabish Nissar, Zahid Mufti, Salman Bakshi, Abdul Bari, Owaise Lone, Mohd Junaid Dhar, Abdul Mateen, Saquib-Ul Waqar, Taukeer, Tajamul Hussain, Basit Bashir, Yasir Rashid, Talib Rafiq, Aqib Nabi, Shakir Latif, Azhar Amin, Zaid Fazil, Mohd Hurrier, Hatim Riyaz, Museeb Iqbal, Ranjot Singh, Ubaid Hameed, Akash Ayub Bhatt and Danish Hilal.



Related posts

PC leaders grieved over loss of lives in Ramban mishap

Kashmir Indepth

CDS Bipin Rawat visiting forward areas along LoC

Ankit Sharma

Coronavirus: Schools closed in Jammu, Samba as govt receives two test reports,

Kashmir Indepth

COVID-19: Advisor Khan reviews working of health, essential services in Udhampur

Kashmir Indepth

Govt evacuates 94,621 stranded JK residents; 67, 172 via Lakhanpur, 26,797 through COVID special trains

Kashmir Indepth

Book the Culprits who tried to bribe Governor SP Malik: Harsh Dev

Ankit Sharma

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy